Border Crossing

Since when borders between North and South Cyprus were opened in 2003, people can now cross between the two on daily basis. Since then, with the borders open, all the people can now experience the island of Cyprus as a whole.

Border Crossing Points

There are currently 6 active checkpoints for crossing the green line in Cyprus. The last crossing point that was established was the Bostancı crossing that is located in Guzelyurt (Morphou).

Current active Green Line Crossing Checkpoints:

• Agios Dometrios (Nicosia)

Which is also known as Metehan is considered the main crossing point between the two sides of Cyprus due to sheer volume of people that cross at this checkpoint. It is located in Nicosia and it is a checkpoint that handles the crossing of pedestrians, cyclists, vehicles and goods.

• Black Knight (British Eastern Sovereign Base Area)

Or also known as the Ayios Nikolaos, Strovilia or Akyar crossing is one of the two crossings points that are located in the British Eastern Sovereign Base Area. This crossing point allows for the movement of pedestrians, vehicles and goods across the border in either direction.

• Ledra Palace (Nicosia) (pedestrians and diplomatic vehicles only) – the oldest crossing, just outside the walls of old Nicosia on the west of the city.

• Ledra Palace (Nicosia)(pedestrians only) – recently opened on 3 April 2008 and now the most central of all crossings.

• Pergamos /(British Eastern Sovereign Base Area)

This is one of the two checkpoints located in the British Eastern Sovereign Base Area. It is also known as Beyarmudu or Dhekelia. It can be used for the crossing of pedestrians, vehicles and goods.

• Bostanci (Güzelyurt)

This crossing point may also be known as Astromeritis, Morpho, Morfu, Güzelyurt, Omorfo or Morfou. This was the last checkpoint to be opened, as it is located to the west of Nicosia. This checkpoint allows for the crossing of pedestrians, vehicles and goods.

•Yesilirmak (Lefke)

This crossing is known as Pirgo and is another crossing point after the city of Lefke used for the crossing of cars, pedestrians and goods.

Note: In many cases these checkpoints have more than one name because they also take in to account the English, Greek, and Turkish names along with the names of the region or neighboring villages.